Intelligence and Security Committee to publish rendition report in 2018

The Intelligence and Security Committee (ISC) has elected Dominic Grieve MP as its chair, and said that it intends to publish its report on detainee mistreatment and rendition in 2018.

On November 23rd, the ISC announced that it had met that day for the first time in the current Parliament. In a statement, Dominic Grieve said:

"We will also be completing our Reports on the involvement of the UK Government and Security and Intelligence Agencies in detainee mistreatment and rendition, and a review of diversity and inclusion in the UK Intelligence Community -- both of which, we intend to publish next year."

The chairman criticised the delay in re-establishing the ISC, which last met in April 2016, stating:

“It has taken an exceptionally long time after the General Election for the ISC to be reconstituted -- the effective and robust oversight of the intelligence community, entrusted to us, is too important to have been left in a vacuum for so many months. We will therefore also be considering steps to strengthen the ability of the Committee to do its work."

The statement also said that the Committee was working to publish its 2016-2017 Annual Report, and had asked the Government to "ensure deadlines are met such that the Report can be published in the coming weeks".

The current members of the Committee are:

Richard Benyon MP (Conservative), Ian Blackford MP (SNP), Caroline Flint MP (Labour), David Hanson MP (Labour), Kevan Jones MP (Labour), Keith Simpson MP (Conservative), Lord Janvrin (crossbench) and the Marquess of Lothian (Conservative).

Read the full statement here.